Smailes Double Takes Pilkington FC Into The Final


Pilkington FC 3-1 Unicorn Athletic

Cheshire League President’s Cup Semi-Final, Saturday 6th May 2017

Following on from a battling win over Egerton last week that saw Matty Taylor score his 50th goal of the season, Pilks put in a composed performance to beat Unicorn Athletic and reach the final of the Cheshire League President’s Cup.

Pilks started strongly and were ahead after only 4 minutes. Graham Boylan headed Ian Frazer’s free kick goalwards and the keeper somehow fumbled the ball through his legs and over the line.

Pilkington FC 1-0 Unicorn Athletic

Pilks didn’t allow Unicorn to settle and went 2-0 up after 30 minutes. Brad Smailes and Boylan combined well on the edge of the box, before Smailes dispatched the ball into the bottom corner.

Pilkington FC 2-0 Unicorn Athletic

It was expected that Pilks couldn’t keep up the high pressing game and they gradually allowed Unicorn to get into their passing game. But despite this they were not causing any issues for Pilks and it took some hesitation in the Pilks defence to let them in. On 37 minutes, a mix up between Connah Kilgallon and keeper Rob Cork gave Unicorn the opening to pull one back.

Pilkington FC 2-1 Unicorn Athletic

As the half came to a close Pilks hit back again. Miguel Gillam’s pass released Boylan who drove into the box before squaring the ball for Smailes to make it 3-1 at half-time.

Half-time: Pilkington FC 3-1 Unicorn Athletic

The second half was an edgy affair and despite Pilks being under pressure the visitors could only manage speculative attempts. The Unicorn keeper pulled off a good save from a Luke McCausland header and on 61 minutes Taylor was put clear but somehow the keeper again managed to prevent Pilks going further ahead.

As the game came to a close, the Unicorn substitute was dismissed for dissent.

Pilks go onto the final against Fords on May 20th at Styal FC.

Full-time: Pilkington FC 3-1 Unicorn Athletic

Team Line up: Rob Cork, Connah Killagllon, Miguel Gillam, Luke McCausland, Jake Worrall, Ian Frazer, Ian McBride, Luke Sephton, Graham Boylan, Matty Taylor, Brad Smailes. Subs: Chris Clarke


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here