Award-Winning Poet Swaps 197 Bus Stop For Rainhill Library

This darkly funny, pathos-fuelled poetry theatre show by prize-winning writer and performer, Karen McLeod arrives at our local bus stop and Rainhill Library.

Shrouded in iconic anorak, knees bulging from pop socks, Barbara Brownskirt is the unsuccessful lesbian Poet-in-Residence at the 197 bus stop, Croydon Road, Penge.

We meet her, unlucky-in-love, as she attempts to find out who she is and why she is. Share the highs and lows as she explores how to survive in 21st Century Britain through poetry, slides and a study of Judi Dench done three ways.

She explores themes of identity, aloneness and failure, while providing a safe space for her audience. Fans of Victoria Wood and Rik Mayall will love it.

Friday 10th November. Rainhill Library, 7pm

Who is it for 18+

Cost & Booking Info £6, £5 (St.Helens Library Card Holders), £3 (concs).

Book online here – https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/who-do-you-think-you-are-barbara-brownskirt-tickets-36652182665 or call into any library in St.Helens to purchase your tickets.

 

If you’re involved in the Creative sector and live, work or study in St Helens, join the St Helens Creative Hub https://www.facebook.com/groups/127034061273125

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here