Charity Awards 2018 Opens For Applications

Since 2000, the Charity Awards has recognised charities with innovative and effective interventions which the rest of the sector can learn from.

The Awards provide a perfect opportunity for you to propel your charity’s work into the spotlight, to influence policy-makers and funders, and to showcase the quality of your project or initiative.

The 19th annual awards will have Rathbones as the overall awards partner, and the Charities Aid Foundation as an awards supporter. The application deadline is Friday 23 February.

Submitting an entry is free, and you can support your organisation’s efforts to influence policy-makers and funders and boost the morale of your staff and stakeholders.

You may enter any type of project or campaign and it will be judged by a distinguished panel of sector leaders against entries from other organisations in your own sector.

Judging will take place in April and the shortlist will be announced on and on Wednesday 9 May.

The Charity Awards programme will culminate in a sparkling gala presentation ceremony and dinner on Thursday 7 June, at The Pavilion, in the grounds of the Tower of London.

Andrew Pitt, head of charities – London at Rathbones, said: “We are thrilled to be working in partnership with Civil Society Media as sponsors of the Charity Awards. The awards celebrate leadership, good governance, innovation and excellence. As investment managers we do everything we can to support the work that the sector does and promoting best practice is an important part of our relationship with charities.”

Three of the  previous winners share their experience of entering the Charity Awards and the impact winning has had on their charity.

View photos and tweets from the 2017 awards night

How are the awards judged?

The independent judging panel will take a range of attributes into account when reviewing the entry forms – these are called the ‘Hallmarks of Excellence’. The project or initiative you are putting forward should be able to demonstrate achievement in most, if not all, of these Hallmarks.

The entry form invites you to explain how your project demonstrates these attributes:

  • Outcomes and effectiveness
  • Value for money
  • Innovation
  • Sustainability
  • Replicability and scalability
  • Best practice.


Awards are given out in the categories below and an overall winner is chosen from the winners of each category.

  • Arts, culture and heritage
  • Campaigning and advocacy
  • Children and youth
  • Disability
  • Education and training
  • Environment and conservation
  • Grant making and Funding
  • Healthcare and medical research
  • International Aid and Development
  • Social care, advice and support.

How to enter the Charity Awards?

Visit to download your entry form
Complete your form (guidance notes are available online to help you to complete the form).
Submit your form by Friday 23rd February (you can submit your entry by email or through the website).

The form is designed to help you describe how your initiative or project has improved the delivery of your charity’s mission.


Key Dates

• Entries close 23rd February
• Judging April
• Shortlist announced 9th May
• Gala presentation 7th June



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here